Gods Promises

Hebrews 6:13-20 New Living Translation (NLT)

God’s Promises Bring Hope

13 For example, there was God’s promise to Abraham. Since there was no one greater to swear by, God took an oath in his own name, saying:

14 “I will certainly bless you,
    and I will multiply your descendants beyond number.”

15 Then Abraham waited patiently, and he received what God had promised.

16 Now when people take an oath, they call on someone greater than themselves to hold them to it. And without any question that oath is binding. 17 God also bound himself with an oath, so that those who received the promise could be perfectly sure that he would never change his mind. 18 So God has given both his promise and his oath. These two things are unchangeable because it is impossible for God to lie. Therefore, we who have fled to him for refuge can have great confidence as we hold to the hope that lies before us. 19 This hope is a strong and trustworthy anchor for our souls. It leads us through the curtain into God’s inner sanctuary. 20 Jesus has already gone in there for us. He has become our eternal High Priest in the order of Melchizedek.


A good reminder for I have been experiencing a lot of doubt today. A lot of impatience. This scripture was brought to my attention. I looked it up in the New Living Translation Version. I have a terrible time understanding New King James Version.

Reading this passage made me think.  In verse 15 it says “Abraham waited patiently”.. “And received what God had promised.” Then in verse 18 it says ..”So God has given both his promise and his oath. These two things are unchangeable because it is impossible for God to lie.”

So I’m thinking… All I have to do is trust and be patient because it says God keeps his promise. God does not lie. Abraham was patient and received the promise. Okay I got this but… These are my biggest challenges, trust and patience. I constantly question why things don’t make total sense. Things that don’t make sense I constantly try to figure out why… I’m a 1+2=3 person. Simple.. or vinegar+baking soda= volcano.. God does things that literally make no sense.

But looking deeper… the battle is my need to know what’s going on. The need to understand and have a sense of control. So its not that God doesn’t make sense because one day when I look back everything will make sense. Its my need to have a sense of control of what’s going on that makes me feel like nothing makes sense.

So again, I’m like okay … If I just let go, trust God (stop questioning every thing he does and is doing), wait (be patient), then it’ll all come together… I got this.

God doesn’t bring us hardships to drive us crazy. He brings us hardships so we grow and overcome the very things that have held us back before. So even though I go through periods of struggle, doubt, impatience, etc. I thank God for the lesson and work at it every day.

Leave a Reply

